2021 Locus Awards Winners

  • by

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation has announced the winners for the 2021 Locus Awards on Saturday during a virtual awards ceremony hosted by Connie Willis. The winners in the novel categories are:

Locus Science Fiction Novel:

WINNER: Network Effect by Martha Wells (Tordotcom)
Machine by Elizabeth Bear (Saga; Gollancz)
Attack Surface by Cory Doctorow (Tor; Ad Astra)
Unconquerable Sun by Kate Elliott (Tor)
Agency by William Gibson (Berkley; Viking UK)
The Relentless Moon by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor; Solaris)
War of the Maps by Paul McAuley (Gollancz)
The Ministry for the Future by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US & UK)
The Last Emperox by John Scalzi (Tor; Tor UK)
Interlibrary Loan by Gene Wolfe (Tor)

Locus Fantasy Novel:

WINNER: The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US & UK)
The Trouble with Peace by Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
The Angel of the Crows by Katherine Addison (Tor; Solaris)
Piranesi by Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury US; Bloomsbury UK)
The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow (Redhook; Orbit)
Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir (Tordotcom)
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix (Tegen Books; Allen & Unwin; Gollancz)
The Midnight Bargain by C.L. Polk (Erewhon)
Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga; Solaris)
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab (Tor; Titan UK)

Locus Horror Novel:

WINNER: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher)
Devolution by Max Brooks (Del Rey; Century)
Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth (Morrow)
Beowulf by Maria Dahvana Headley (MCD x FSG Originals)
The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix (Quirk)
The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones (Saga; Titan)
The Deep by Alma Katsu (Putnam; Bantam Press UK)
The Hollow Places by T. Kingfisher (Saga)
The Hole by Hiroko Oyamada (New Directions)
Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay (Morrow; Titan)

Locus First Novel:

WINNER: Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)
The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez (Del Rey; Titan)
The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson (Del Rey; Hodder & Stoughton)
The Unspoken Name by A.K. Larkwood (Tor; Tor UK)
Beneath the Rising by Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
Architects of Memory by Karen Osborne (Tor)
The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart (Orbit US & UK)
Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas (Swoon Reads)
The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall (Candlewick; Walker UK)
Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots (Morrow)

Locus Young Adult Book:

WINNER: A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher (Argyll)
Over the Woodward Wall by A. Deborah Baker (Tordotcom)
The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi (Wednesday)
The Scapegracers by Hannah Abigail Clarke (Erewhon)
Legendborn by Tracy Deonn (McElderry; Simon & Schuster UK)
Deathless Divide by Justina Ireland (Balzer + Bray; Titan)
A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow (Tor Teen)
Shadowshaper Legacy by Daniel José Older (Scholastic)
Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse (Rick Riordan Presents)
A Peculiar Peril by Jeff VanderMeer (Farrar, Straus, Giroux)

For the complete list of winners in all categories check out the official press release from Locus. Our congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

What do you think of these picks? Did your favorites win? Did you notice that all 5 novel category winners are women? The WWEnd Award Winning Books by Women Authors list continues to grow by leaps and bounds!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.